Florida prohibits the possession of a firearm by anyone who has been convicted of a felony: a crime punishable by more than 1 year in prison. Because of this, many individuals find themselves unable to possess a firearm. After being convicted of a felony, the possession of any firearm is illegal and punishable by a minimum of 3 years in prison, per Florida statute (link to new statute page. Depending on the specific set of circumstances, the punishment can range all the way up to life in prison. See Possession of Firearm by Juvenile Delinquent (link to new page), for a discussion on juvenile delinquents.
By contacting the criminal defense team at Arnold Law Firm in Jacksonville, Florida, you are guaranteed to work with attorneys who are well-versed in the law. We can provide you with the legal representation that is required to protect your rights, whether you have been charged in Duval County, Clay County, St. John's County, Nassau County and beyond.
For more information on different types of weapons and firearms charges, click here. If you would like to learn about carrying concealed weapons and firearms in Florida, then click here.