Arrests for violence in Jacksonville, St. Augustine, or anywhere in Florida or Georgia require serious legal defense attorneys. Florida Battery cases range in severity from a fight where neither person is really injured to an Aggravated Battery where someone is shot, whereby the suspect is looking at a 25-year minimum mandatory sentence under Florida's 10-20-Life statutes.
Battery, including Domestic Battery, are misdemeanors in Florida, punishable by up to a year in the county jail. A battery that is classified as a felony can range from first- to third-degree felonies, punishable by maximum penalties of 5 to 30 years. Felony Battery is a battery that results in, but was not intended to cause, great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement. Felony battery can also be charged if a person has a prior battery charge of any kind, even if adjudication of guilt was withheld.
Aggravated Battery is a second-degree felony, and it is charged when an actual violent act intentionally causes great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement. Florida's Aggravated Battery law can also be charged when a deadly weapon is used. A deadly weapon or firearm can also reclassify a second-degree felony into a first-degree felony.
Self-defense, justification, or the lack of permanent disfigurement/disability are common defenses to these types of cases. Our criminal litigation defense team has more than 30 years of combined experience in the defense of battery- related offenses.