Florida prohibits the possession of a firearm by anyone under 24 years of age who has been adjudicated delinquent of a crime that would be considered a felony: a crime punishable by more than 1 year in prison. A common misconception with this crime is that it requires a minimum-mandatory sentence of 3 years, just like the charge of possession of firearms by a convicted felon (link to new page). Juvenile delinquents are not subject to the same minimum-mandatory sentence. In fact, juvenile delinquents have the ability, based on the specific facts and circumstances, to walk away without becoming a convicted felon.
The attorneys at Arnold Law Firm in Jacksonville, Florida, know the law and know how to attack these cases when they arise. If you have been charged with such an offense, or know a juvenile delinquent who has been arrested for possession of a firearm, contact our experienced criminal defense team today.
If you would like to read more about juvenile criminal defense and how the attorneys at Arnold Law Firm successfully represent our clients, click here. To see an overview of the different types of weapons charges in Florida, click here. For details on the Florida laws surrounding carrying concealed weapons and firearms, click here.